At the Spring-2015 Midwest Travel Writers Association
(MTWA) meeting in
the Finger Lakes Region of
New York State
, it was announced that Janet
Steinberg, official blogger for The Travel Authority, an ALTOUR company, was awarded the
First Place Mark Twain Award for the Best Travel Writing Series of the Year in
MTWA’s annual Mark Twain Travel Writing Contest. 

The winning series “MISSOURI, THE ‘SHOW-ME’ STATE HAS
that appeared in Steinberg’s blogs (May
2014) included: Meet Me In St. Louis; A Lake To Love: Missouri’s Lake
of the Ozarks; and Jefferson City: “America’s Most Beautiful Small City”. 

judging the competing articles in the competition, the judge stated: “Janet
Steinberg’s series was well-written and informative—and an excellent read for
architecture buffs, also.” 

latest award brings her total number of travel writing awards to
41…including: 3 Lowell Thomas Awards; Cipriani Award for Best Overall
Writer of the Year; Henry E. Bradshaw Award for Best of Show in All Categories;
Ohio Buckeye Travel Award; 14 SATW (Society of American Travel Writers) and 21
MTWA (Midwest Travel Writers Association) Awards  

Janet’s award-winning travel columns can also be read in
The Travel Authority & ALTOUR American Express’ DESTINATIONS MAGAZINE and
other newspapers and websites. 

Congratulations Janet!